Make your own free website on Tripod.com
 

Getting to Know You
on
Cooking For Fun

Interested in who some of the subscribers of CFF might be? Well, here's a couple of short life stories. More to come!

My birthday is September 15, a few years after the Revolutionary War....LOL. I live in New York City, on the west side in an area called Chelsea.  I've worked for ABC Television for the past 15 1/2 years. My department was downsized, so gratefully I was given a buyout and have been "retired" since October, 1999. 

I love collecting cookbooks and have about 500 by now, along with other books as well.  I enjoy reading cookbooks that have stories about the recipes and the people more than just straight recipe books, though I have bunches of those also. I enjoy the theatre, movies, dining out, and photography, and have won several awards for some
of my photos. At one time I wanted to be a film producer and almost made it, but unfortunately, it didnt work out. That's when i went to work for ABC. 

I have 2 cats now, having had to put my 3rd cat to sleep right before Christmas, because she had cancer. I'm a voracious reader, and love "cosy" mysteries, history, biographies, and autobiographies. I used to be able to read about 10 books a weekend, now I'm down to 3 or 4. I don't read as quickly as I used to. I've been known to read matchbooks if I ever run out of material :-) I love to travel, and hope to do more of it, now that I have the time. The problem is that I have the time, but not the money....LOL...I wonder if the two ever come together, both time and money :-) 

I love being on the computer, and doing web pages with Lei has been a lot of fun, because I love coming up with ideas, then doing the research, and putting everything together. Then Lei has the fun of picking the graphics that go along with my text. We make a great team, and also great roommates, as you might have read about our Canada Fun Do. 

So I guess that's about it for now. Oh, I forgot, I'm also adorable, brilliant, sexy, and have a wicked sense of humor...ROTFL.

Bev S.

And another life story from Tonia :-)

I am an ole lady... not old.. 50ish.. I got my latest Harley for my 50th and I love it.. I got my first for my 45th.. for most of my life I was on the back. I had an 8 year old at home (my youngest), and I mentioned to my DH that we were spending most weekends riding, and our son was at home. I thought at that time he was kinda neat.. my DH suggested 2 options.. side car and my own Harley. Guess which one I chose..My now 14 yo tells me that his legs are longer than mine, and I should let him park my bike. I love riding, and I love the friendship this list offers.. no question...

San Diego Tonia  = Hogrider (1200 Sportster/1450 Softail) in San Diego, CA. ICQ# 13976086

Here is a story from Tonia Anderson In Temecula, California

Hello Everyone, Okay here is my addition to getting to know you.  I am a 40 yr old married woman with 3 children ages 20, 14 and 9.  I have been with my lovely husband
for 71/2 yrs now and it keeps getting better everyday.  He truly is my sole mate.  I grew up in Southern California 2 blocks away from Knott's Berry Farm, from the famous Jelly Family. My hobbies are Cooking, Cooking and Cooking.  I also like to garden and enjoy reading very much.  I have lived all over Southern California and have lived here in the Temecula area since 1989.  I love it here.  I am living on 2-1/2 acres in the wine country
surrounded by beautiful rolling hills and horses all around.  It truly is wonderful living in the country and a great place to raise children and animals for that matter. My husband is an avid scuba diver and our family enjoys going to the beach whenever we can get away.  I was adopted at birth and was raised by two beautiful parents.  I have 1 brother who was also adopted at birth due to my mother having a full hystorectomy at 23 yrs old. I have been a member of CFF since my 40th birthday in August 1999 and have
truly enjoyed this group of people in CFF.  What a wonderful list.

Tonia in Temecula, CA

My full name is Melanie Rae Kelley.  I'm 31 years old & live 12 miles east of St. Louis, MO (My parents are from Olive Branch, IL & Dover, TN).  I've been a Type I Diabetic for 13-1/2 years now.  I have one brother, Keith, who is 9 years older than me.  My mother passed away from colon cancer when I was 14 years old.  My dad remarried about a year later & they live about 5 miles from me. 

I've been married to a wonderful man, David, for 10 years.  We just celebrated 11 years together last week.  I have a beautiful 5 year old daughter, Jessica.  We have 2 cats, Shadow & Bubbles.  I'm a stay at home mom, for now.  Jessica starts Kindergarden this year, so I'm thinking of going back to work part-time. 

I love to read, listen to music (country, pop, classical, I like almost everything!!!), & I love to cross-stitch.  I've never kept anything that I've made, so you can imagine what my family's homes look like!  :o)  I also love to cook.  It's one of the greatest memories of my mother that I have.  She showed me that cooking isn't just to feed people, it's a complete expression of yourself.  What a wonderful legacy that I can pass on to Jessica!

That's about it!  Not much else to tell.  I just try to live a simple life, with all of the good things we were meant to have!
*
Melanie in Missouri
 



 
 


 
 

Webpage designed and maintained by Leilani Devries.

These beautiful graphics, based on a painting 
by Marsden Hartley, are courtesy of: